County Kitchen, Seekonk

Ray and I continued our trip down memory lane by visiting another pre-blog restaurant, the Country Kitchen, 469 Taunton Ave., Seekonk. Our first trip there, about a year ago, was an eye opener. Each of us had been there in the past but it had been awhile for Ray as he had left there with a bad taste in his mouth. Get it? Bad taste? Anyway, we were impressed with our breakfast that day and looked forward to another visit. Spoiler alert: We were disappointed. The coffee just wasn’t good. For us it takes a lot to overcome sub-par coffee. I had ordered my unusual. The home fries and the sausage were over heated…on the dry side and bland. Best we could figure is that the pre-cooked stuff had been sitting for awhile. We had wondered why our meals had come out so fast. It just seemed that the eggs were the only item cooked fresh. The other stuff had just been kept warm for too long. Once again, and this has been discussed on the blog before, I wonder if the time we head out for breakfast is a little late for “normal” breakfast time. I don’t know. But the stuff was heated for too long. My take on this…2 1/2 cups.

 

Back to a restaurant that we had been to before we began the blog, Country Kitchen in Seekonk. Small restaurant with about 10 tables, a little crowded but cozy. I had a simple breakfast of scrambled eggs, home fries and hash, with coffee. I’ll make this one simple, the coffee was ok ( no refill for me), the eggs were….. ahh, scrambled. The hash was a little crispy on one side ( good thing ), but was not home made. In this case I was in the mood for “Hormel” and it was fine. Home fries were a little mushy to start with and not much flavor, even adding salt and pepper didn’t help much. A funny thing happened. Mike and I, almost at the same time, said the crispy pieces were better than the rest of them. Sorry Country Kitchen, can’t give you more than 2 ½ cups of coffee out of 4.

Published by

rainman02769

Mike Sullivan-Silva and I are good friends and enjoy the same interests, We attend the same church here in Rehoboth, and both love to have a good chat over breakfast...and beyond.

Leave a comment